Prescott DUI Lawyers
Fighting for the Accused in Prescott, Gilbert, Yavapai, & Maricopa Counties
If you’ve been arrested or charged with driving under the influence (DUI), you are likely experiencing a substantial worry about the future. Will you lose your license? Will you go to jail? What will it mean if you have a conviction on your record?
These are common concerns. Speaking to an attorney from Signature Law Group can reduce your stress and help you focus on solving the problem. Driving under the influence is a mistake that nearly anyone could make. You should know that you likely have more options to resolve your charges than you realize. Our firm can thoroughly investigate all of the facts and circumstances of your case to determine what those options may be and how to best pursue an optimum result.
Will Your License Get Suspended?
If this is your first DUI, you are facing a license suspension of 90 days. It is possible in some cases to avoid this. You will need to be found not guilty in criminal court and successfully argue your case in a separate administrative hearing before the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department. If you lose either case, your license will be suspended.
Our attorneys can represent you in both proceedings and will vigorously advocate on your behalf to keep your driving privileges intact.
Contesting the Charges
Our Prescott DUI attorney is a former prosecutor who now uses that knowledge and experience to defend clients facing criminal charges. He understands that even when the evidence seems irrefutable, reasons can be found to put your guilt in doubt.
Here are just some of the defense options you may have:
- You can argue that the officer did not have a valid reason to pull you over (lack of reasonable suspicion).
- The officer did not administer tests correctly or gave unclear instructions.
- The testing equipment (breathalyzer) needed service and calibration and therefore gave an inaccurate result.
- You have medical issues that could have skewed both the results of field sobriety tests and a breathalyzer test.
The specific defense options you have will depend on the details of your arrest. Putting a skilled attorney on your defense means that we know what to look for, how to analyze evidence, and how convincingly argue your case in court. Moreover, our attorneys can help you explore prosecution and sentencing alternatives if contesting the charges seems to be untenable.
Arizona DUI Penalties
Arizona applies the following criminal penalties for a first-offense DUI. These charges are generally based on having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher or being impaired by alcohol and/or drugs.
- Jail time of 24 hours to 10 days
- A base fine of $250 that can include fees that total up to $2,500
- Alcohol screening, education, and/or treatment
- Community service hours
- A required ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle
Second and subsequent DUIs will result in stiffer penalties. A first-offense DUI can result in a misdemeanor conviction giving you a permanent criminal record that can hamper your ability to retain or secure employment, qualify for housing, professional licenses, or advanced educational opportunities, or lead to immigration consequences for noncitizens.
Discuss your case with a Prescott, AZ DUI attorney at Signature Law Group by contacting us online or at (928) 842-8522.
Thousands of Clients Helped
"Led me through the roughest times with a knowledgeable and steady concern."- Nancy
What Makes Us Different?A Law Firm committed to Writing A Brighter Future for Our clients
25+ Years of Combined Legal Experience
We Know How to Build a Successful Case
We've Favorably Helped Thousands of Clients
We Are Advocates for You & Your Family
We Help You Write a Better Future